ASPHD_CSC Archives

PhD Student


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="------------010406010702000709030408"
Sender: PhD Student <[log in to unmask]>
From: Tammie Dudley <[log in to unmask]>
Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2012 10:55:05 -0500
In-Reply-To: <[log in to unmask]>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Reply-To: PhD Student <[log in to unmask]>
Parts/Attachments: text/plain (4 kB) , text/html (9 kB)

On 12/11/2012 9:58 AM, Yi Pan wrote:
> Please distribute to all PhD students
> -------- Original Message --------
> Subject: 	Call for Participation - The New Heidelberg 
> Forum for Computer Science and Mathematics
> Date: 	Tue, 11 Dec 2012 14:52:14 +0000
> From: 	John White <[log in to unmask]>
> To: 	Undisclosed recipients:;
> Dear CRA Colleague,
> I am writing to introduce a new opportunity for young 
> scientists in computing and mathematics, and seek your 
> help in generating awareness of, and interest in, this new 
> event.  The new event is the Heidelberg Laureates Forum 
> which will provide an opportunity for young researchers to 
> spend a week with winners of the Turing Award, Abel Prize, 
> and Fields Medal.  Details regarding this forum can be 
> found at Some 
> background ....
> The Klaus Tschira Foundation and the Heidelberg Institute 
> of Theoretical Studies approached ACM, the International 
> Mathematics Union, and the Norwegian Academy of Science 
> and Letters with a proposal for a forum modeled after the 
> Lindau Forum for Nobel Laureates and young researchers. 
>  The new forum will focus on computer science and 
> mathematics and bring together winners of the Turing 
> Award, the Abel Prize, and the Fields Medal to meet with 
> ~100+ young researchers for a week in Heidelberg, 
> Germany.   After several discussions, and endorsement from 
> almost all ACM Turing Award winners, ACM agreed to join 
> with the above organizations as well as the Mathematisches 
> Forschungszentrum Oberwolfach and the Schloss Dagstuhl -- 
> Leibniz Center for Informatics to create the "Heidelberg 
> Laureates Forum."
> The Heidelberg Laureates Forum will be held for one week 
> each September in Heidelberg, Germany.  The focus will 
> alternate between computer science one year and 
> mathematics the next.  The first Forum will be held 
> September 22-27, 2013.  For this first forum, the focus 
> will be both computer science and mathematics.
> More specifically, the goal of the first Forum is to bring 
> together ~100+ young researchers (i.e., recent PhDs, 
> graduate students, and possibly undergraduates with good 
> research experience) to spend a week learning from -- and 
> working with -- Turing, Abel, and Fields laureates.  
> Attached is a copy of a one-page announcement that will 
> appear in the January issue of CACM.  Also attached is a 
> preliminary view of how the Heidelberg week will be 
> organized.  To date several winners of the Turing Award, 
> Abel Prize, and Fields Medal have indicated they will 
> participate.
> To be considered for the Heidelberg Forum, young 
> researchers can either apply directly 
> or be nominated by a colleague (or professor or mentor  or 
> manager) who can attest to the quality of their work.  
> Nominations will likely carry a bit more weight within the 
> selection process and can be made at 
> but require ACM-specific credentials.  If you or a 
> colleague would like to make a nomination, please contact 
> me ([log in to unmask] <mailto:[log in to unmask]>), and I 
> will provided the ACM-specific information needed.  
> Applications and nominations must be completed by February 
> 15, 2013.
> The selection of young researchers will be a two-step 
> process.  In the first step the pool of applications and 
> nominations in computer science will be screened and 
> ranked by the ACM Heidelberg Forum Committee ....
> ACM Heidelberg Forum Committee:
> Co-Chairs:  Jenifer Chayes (MSR), Juris Hartmanis (Cornell)
> Members:
> Manindra Agrawal (IIT Kanpur)
> Michael Kearns (U Penn)
> Ed Lazowska (U Washington)
> Kurt Mehlhorn (Max Planck Saarbrucken)
> Greg Morrisett (Harvard)
> Beth Mynatt (Georgia Tech)
> P. J. Narayanan (IIIT Hyderabad)
> Christos Papadimitriou (Berkeley)
> Ron Perrott (Oxford)
> Daniela Rus (MIT)
> Eva Tardos (Cornell)
> Jennifer Widom (Stanford)
> Jeannette Wing (CMU)
> Andy Yao (Tsinghua)
> In the second stage, the top ~30% of 
> applications/nominations will be reviewed by the 
> Scientific Committee of the Heidelberg Forum (on which 
> Jennifer and Juris represent ACM) to pick the ~100+ 
> participants.
> ACM has engaged in helping create the Heidelberg Forum to 
> raise the visibility of both the Turing Award (computing's 
> most prestigious award) and the computing discipline 
> worldwide.  I hope you will share this information on the 
> Heidelberg Forum with colleges and students ... and I hope 
> your department (or school or laboratory or center) will 
> be the source of several applications or nominations.
> Best regards,
> John White
> ------------------------------------------
> John R. White
> ACM Chief Executive Officer
> 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701
> New York, NY 10121
> Ph:  +1-212-626-0550